How to Get a Library Card
Kansas residents may register by completing an application, providing name, place of residence, telephone number, their place of employment and birth date if under the age of eighteen. The applicant mus show proof of residence with a current bill or bank statement. These include utility bill, telephone or cell phone bill, credit card bill, mortgage bill, or rent receipt. The patron will then receive their new library card and a copy of the library rules.
If the applicant is unable to furnish any of the above documents the library staff will mail a letter to the new patron at the address listed on the application stating their library card is ready. The new borrower will be asked to bring the letter with them to the library to pick up their library card, thus verifying the address they provided..
Newspapers and magazines--other than current ones--may be checked out for one week.
Books and audiobooks may be checked out for two weeks with one week's grace period.
Software games and movies may be checked out for one week with no renewals to adult patrons only. E-readers are available for checkout for a two-week period to adult patrons with five or fewer late returns for the previous six months. There are no renewals for e-Readers. Overdue fines for e-Readers are $5.00 per day with a limit of $25.00.
Loss of Borrowing Privileges
In an effort to curtail material losses, any patron who has five or more overdue materials will lose his borrowing privileges until two conditions have been met: 1)the return of the overdue item(s) or the payment of replacement costs and processing fees have been made.
Charges for Lost or Damaged Materials
All library patrons will be responsible for the books they have in their possession. Patrons will be charged for negligent damage to library materials. If the item(s) is lost or damaged beyond repair, the charge will be the cost of the materials as recorded in the automation system, plus a processing fee of $5.00. If no cost is listed, the replacement price will be $20.00, plus the $5.00 processing fee.
The library upholds Kansas Statutes Annotated 21-3702 which states, "failure to return library materials within thirty days following the overdue notice will constitute intent to deprive the library of public property and constitute grounds for prosecution for misdemeanor theft."